June 3, 2019

Sustainable Design Assessment in the Planning Process (SDAPP) – Subdivisions

Sixteen Victorian councils led by Wodonga City Council have received funding to establish the feasibility of a state-wide assessment framework for subdivisions to facilitate construction of resource-efficient dwellings and resilient neighbourhoods.

The project aims to develop a implementation framework for regional and metropolitan councils for sustainable subdivision developments at a range of scales to improve sustainability and climate resilience in greenfield residential development. The framework will subsequently be used in an 18 month trial. Resources for implementing the framework though both regional and metropolitan Council Planning Schemes will also be developed.

The project follows on from the ESD for Subdivisions in Regional Victoria project, which established ‘best practice’ principles and initiatives for ESD in subdivisions; costs and benefits of ESD initiatives at subdivision and dwelling scale; analysed a suite of planning and educational tools address ESD at different scales, and a model for implementation.

The Council Alliance for a Sustainable Built Environment and the Local Government Infrastructure Design Association (LGIDA) are supporting partners. The partnership between metropolitan and regional councils will demonstrate the state-wide applicability of the approach.

Partner councils are: Ballarat City Council, Baw Baw Shire Council, East Gippsland Shire Council, Greater Bendigo City Council, Greater Geelong City Council, Greater Shepparton City Council, Hume City Council, Latrobe City Council, Macedon Ranges Shire Council, Melton City Council, Mitchell Shire Council, Moorabool Shire Council, Wangaratta Rural City Council, Warnambool City Council. Whittlesea City Council, Wodonga City Council (lead).

The SDAPP for Subdivisions project is supported by the Victorian Government through the Collaborative Council – Sustainability Fund Partnerships Program.